WhatsApp Discloses What will Happen to Users who Didn't Agree to Upcoming Privacy Policy - Read Here

WhatsApp has finally revealed what it will do to account managed by users who failed to accept the platforms pending privacy policy updates slated to come into effect on May 15.

According to a mail circulating the net, Whatsapp said it will slowly ask users who are yet to accept the policy change to comply with the new terms in the coming weeks, which they'll do to have full access to WhatsApp from May 15.

If they still fail to accept the terms, "for a short time, these users will be able to receive calls and notifications, but will not be able to read or send messages from the app," the company added in the note.

=============

Nevertheless, from an update Starting from May 15, 2021, Facebook will ask its users to accept their new terms and conditions or risk losing important features,

Failure to accept the new policy after few weeks of persistent notification then you'll encounter limited functionality on WhatsApp until you accept the updates:

  • You won't be able to access your chat list but you can pick up incoming audio and video calls, you can also respond to the notification from the notification tab if you have enabled it.
  • After few weeks, you won't be able to receive incoming calls or notifications; Whatsapp will also stop sending you messages and call updates.
  • You can then export your chats and download a report of your account on your own.
This glitch might not happen to everyone at the same time but be rest assured that your account won't be permanently deleted.
============

WhatsApp also confirmed to Techcrunch that the note characterised its plans, as the account of users who fail to accept the terms between the few weeks will be marked as inactive and permanently deleted after 21days; in concordance with Whatsapp policy for inactive users.

Recall that Whatsapp launched its new usage terms early last month which stirred a lot of uproar due to misinterpretation by users that the messaging platform will now share their messages with their parent app - Facebook.

The fact remains that private messages between users will remain end-to-end encrypted so that they can only be accessed by those in the conversation. WhatsApp also lets users message businesses, however, and the same protections won't apply to those messages. Data in business messages will be able to be used for commercial purposes like ad targeting on Facebook, with some data stored on Facebook's servers.

This misconception caused lots of users to migrate to neighbouring apps like Telegram, Signal and other rival messaging apps, of which these platforms exploited the situation by unveiling new chat features.

However, WhatsApp used series of in-app statuses to clarify that the update does not affect data sharing with Facebook in terms of user chats or profile information, with the new terms instead applying to those who use the business chat feature.

Nevertheless, in coming weeks; Whatsapp will roll out a small, in-app banner (pictured above) that users can tap to re-review the privacy policies.

Tapping the banner will show a more detailed summary of the changes, including further specifics about how WhatsApp works with Facebook. The Facebook-owned company says it will eventually remind users to read the new policy and accept it to continue using the app.

That's all.

Kindly share and drop a comment below.

Share On
About Lukastech Blog Lukastechs.com Is A Top Tech Blog That Provides Free And Cheap Browsing Cheats On Mtn, 9mobile, Glo And Airtel, How-to's, Tech News, Online Wealth Tips And Social Media Tricks.
Older Posts Older Posts

Editors' Choice

Recommended Articles

Comments

Post a comment
What do you have to say about this post? Kindly drop your comment here!

Your comment(s) are appreciated.

You want to get notified when I reply to your comment? Kindly tick the Notify Me box.